My name is Fr. Carlos Keen and I am the Parochial Administrator of this beautiful Parish and community. I'm here by the grace of the Holy Spirit and the invitation of Archbishop Charles J. Chaput along with the members of my community, Sodalitium Christianae Vitae. Our Sodalit spirituality is deeply Marian - "from Jesus to Mary and from Mary back to Jesus."

St. James was the first Catholic Church on the west side of the Schuylkill River, founded 1850. St. Agatha, 3813 Spring Garden Street,  was founded shortly thereafter in 1865. In 1976 after St. Agatha suffered a second fire the two churches were incorporated into St. Agatha-St. James. 

Our doors are open to all who choose to embrace Christ with us. 
We are home to the Alpha Newman Center – the first Newman Center in the United States founded in 1913 as the Newman Center of the University of Pennsylvania. This was followed by the Drexel Newman Center at 33 S. 33rd Street. When the Drexel Newman Center closed, our Newman Catholic Center became home to all local university students.


From Christ to Mary, and through Mary more fully to the Lord Jesus

Fr. Carlos Keen, SCV
Pastor & Newman Center Chaplain
office@saintsaj.org

patrick+website.png

Patrick Travers, SCV
Director of Newman Ministries
ptravers@saintsaj.org

carole+headshot.png

Carole Tokarczyk
Parish Administrator
office@saintsaj.org
(267) 787-5000 ext. 1

matt+website.png

Matt Smith
Business Manager
business@saintsaj.org

missy+website.png

Missy Elwell
Administrative Assistant
melwell@saintsaj.org

carolyn+website.png

Carolyn Shields
Communications Coordinator
newman@saintsaj.org

michael+website+circle.png

Michael Gokie, SCV
Drexel Campus Minister
mjg395@drexel.edu

abigail+website+circle.png

Abigail Gorman
Drexel Campus Minister
amg556@drexel.edu

Dcn. Remigio Morales, SCV
Director of Spirituality
rmorales@saintsaj.org

Julie O’Donnell

Development Coordinator

jodonnell@saintsaj.org

Marisa March
Academic Director
mmarch@saintsaj.org

Leonardo Negrini, SCV
Outreach Coordinator
lnegrini@saintsaj.org

Gregory Tokarczyk
Facilities Coordinator
gtokarczyk@saintsaj.org

John Ortega
Development & Communications Intern